Courage in Journalism Awards

Courage in Journalism Awards

Courage in Journalism Awards: The Courage in Journalism Awards honor women working in the news media who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances.

Sponsored Link

These women show a commitment to journalism exemplified by a willingness to continually put their lives or their freedom at risk to produce a body of work in the face of government oppression, political pressure, physical danger, or other intimidating obstacles.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose determination has paved the way for future generations of women in the media.

Sponsored Link

Recipients also demonstrate a strong commitment to freedom of the press and a solid record of accomplishments in journalism.

Candidates can be full-time, part-time, or freelance women journalists working in print, broadcast, or online media in any country.

Candidates for the Lifetime Achievement Award can be retired journalists.

The awardees will spend approximately two weeks in the United States, as guests of the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF), making appearances at these ceremonies and other events, and participating in press interviews.

Each awardee will receive a cash award of at least $5,000.

Follow the links below for more details and applicationcontacts.

Please contact: Elisa Munoz, Director of Programs, IWMF, 1625 K Street, NW, Suite 1275 , Washington, DC 20006, USA.Tel: +1 (202) 496-1992. Fax: +1 (202) 496-1977. E-mail: courage [at]

For further details, and application materials, contact: Courage in Journalism Awards