How to use Snapchat Stories

How to use Snapchat Stories

A Snapchat Story is a collection of Snaps captured within the past 24 hours. By default, your Story is visible to all of your friends, and they can view the Snaps in your story as many times as they would like. You can limit who sees your Story by changing your privacy settings.

How to create and edit your Story

Add Snaps to your Story

Follow the instructions above to create a Snap, then tap the Story button at the bottom left of your screen. Tap Add, and the Snap will become part of your Story.

Delete a Snap from your Story

From the camera screen, tap the ghost icon. Then tap My Story. Tap any Snap to view it, and tap the garbage can icon at the bottom right to delete.

Save your Story

Remember, your Story is a rolling archive of the past 24 hours. If you’d like to save a Story longer than that, you can save it. From the camera screen, tap the ghost icon. Tap the download button beside My Story to save your current Story to Memories or your camera roll.

See who’s viewed your Story

Tap the eye button on any Snap within a Story to see who’s viewed it. (Pro tip: You can only find out how many people viewed your Story while it’s live. Once it’s disappeared, so does the view tracking.)

How to view a friend’s Story

From the camera screen, tap on the triangle Stories icon in the bottom right corner. You’ll see a list of friends who have updated their stories. To view the story, tap on your friend’s username.

Once you’re viewing the Story, you can tap to go to the next Snap, tap on the left side of the screen to go back to the previous Snap, swipe left to skip ahead to the next Story, swipe right to go back to the previous Story, swipe down to exit the Story, or swipe up to start a Chat with your friend.

How to create a group Story

You can create a shared Story with your friends. Group stories can contain up to 1,000 snaps, and they last as long as someone adds a Snap every 24 hours.

  1. From the camera screen, tap the triangle Stories icon.
  2. Tap the + icon on the top right.
  3. Choose to create a Group Story (for you and select friends), a Geo Story(for people within a geofenced location), or a Private Story (only available to selected friends).

How to contribute to Our Story

Our Story is a collection of Snaps from various Snapchatters and may appear in Discover, search, or through the Snap Map. Adding your Snaps to Our Story means they may be visible to people you are not connected with on Snapchat.

Pages ( 1 of 3 ): 1 23Next Page »