PRESEC Legon (Accra)

Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School (or PRESEC) is a secondary boarding school for boys, founded in 1938, under the auspices of the Presbyterian Church of the Gold Coast.[3] The progenitor of the original idea for the school was the Basel missionary, the Reverend Nicholas Timothy Clerk (1862 – 1961).[3][4] The school has ties with its sister school, Aburi Girls’ Senior High School

Sponsored Link

The school’s crest has a shield with the Presbyterian symbol (the St Andrew Cross-Scottish flag with the Swiss Flag embedded and a burning torch in the middle) with the motto of the school, “In Lumine Tuo Videbimus Lumen”, meaning “In Thy Light We Shall See Light”, scrolled beneath the shield. The school was originally located in Odumase – Krobo in the Eastern Region of Ghana before moving to its current location in Legon, Accra in 1968.[3]

The school anthem is “Happy Are We”, written by J. L. Anang.

Sponsored Link

Notable alumni

Politics, government, and public policy

  • Lt. Gen. F. W. K. Akuffo – Head of State of Ghana (5 July 1978 – 4 June 1979)
  • Kwesi Botchwey – Ghana’s longest serving Minister of Finance (1982–1995) and Chairman – Ghana National Gas Development Task Force
  • Aaron Mike Oquaye – Speaker of the 7th Parliament of the 4th Republic (2017 to 2022) and former Minister of Communication (2005 to 2009).
  • Bright Simons – IMANI Ghana and 2012 World Economic Forum (WEF) Young Global Leader (YGL)
  • Alex Tettey-Enyo – former Minister of Education
  • Hon. Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa – MP – Member of Parliament – North Tongu and former Deputy Minister of Education (2013-2016)
  • Kofi Portuphy- former National Coordinator – National Disaster Management Organization (NADMO)and National Chairman-National Democratic Congress